How to watch Yellowstone and its many spinoffs in the best order

The Yellowstone world has started to grow, with a few spinoff shows that cover a lot of years. Here’s the right way to watch them.

Since there are so many spinoffs of Yellowstone, it can be hard to know where to start, so you might need a guide to know the Yellowstone watch order. Over the last few years, Taylor Sheridan’s Western drama has been a huge hit on TV. It quickly grew into a universe of multiple shows that follow the Dutton family tree in 1883 and 1923. The series keeps bringing in big names from Hollywood. Kevin Costner, Harrison Ford, Tim McGraw, and Faith Hill are just a few of the stars who have been in the movies.

In each show in the Yellowstone world, the Dutton family’s history as they moved to Montana is told. 1883 is a show that only has one season. It is about James and Margaret Dutton, who move to Montana to claim land. In 1923, as a new group of Duttons started to build their empire during Prohibition and the Great Depression, they faced real-life problems. In Yellowstone, the Dutton family fights to keep the land that their relatives worked hard on for generations.

Which Yellowstone Shows to Watch First?

In 1883, Sam Elliott, who plays Shea, is in a field with horses.

Yellowstone and the Yellowstone spinoff shows can be watched in two main ways, based on what the audience wants. If you really want to see the Yellowstone timeline in order, you should start with 1883, move to 1923, and then watch all five seasons of Yellowstone. But to understand all the details of the prequels and how they lead up to the main story, you should start with Yellowstone and then move on to 1883 and 1923. There’s no wrong way to enjoy the Western story. In the end, it all comes down to what you like. But here are the Yellowstone series in order of when they were written:

  • 1883
  • 1923
  • Yellowstone

Seeing everything in the Yellowstone world is a big job, so it makes sense to have a plan for how you’re going to watch it, especially since the franchise is on two different streaming services. Peacock has all five seasons of Yellowstone, but 1883 and 1923 can be found on Paramount+. With several more spinoffs, like 1883: The Bass Reeves Story and 6666, coming to the universe in the near future, deciding on a viewing order before diving into the massive franchise can help fans get the most out of their Yellowstone experience.

Do you need to watch all of the Yellowstone series?

All of the shows in the Yellowstone franchise are linked in some way, but you don’t have to watch one to watch another. You can enjoy 1883, 1923, and Yellowstone on their own. Each show adds to the watching experience of the other shows by giving details and background information that can make the other shows more interesting. But each series is about a different part of the Dutton family tree, so you can enjoy each one on its own. The order in which you watch the Yellowstone series isn’t that important, either.

In 1923, Whitfield gives Jacob a stack of papers.

There are plans for more Yellowstone spinoffs. There are four spinoffs of Yellowstone coming up if you count the second season of 1923. Two of the spin-offs are sequel series. The first is an untitled series starring Matthew McConaughey, and it has been suggested that the actor could appear in the last six episodes of Yellowstone season 5 to make the transfer smoother. The second spin-off that happens after Yellowstone is called 6666, which is confusing because the names of the other spin-offs were years. But 6666 is the name of a ranch in Yellowstone, which will be the base of a show that takes place right after season 5 of Yellowstone.

Before Yellowstone, there are two other spin-offs. The first is 1923 season 2, which will be the last season of the series but has been pushed back a lot because of the WGA writers’ strike. Bass Reeves is the name of the second prequel spin-off. It was inspired by what happened in 1883, but it is not a straight sequel, even though its original name was 1883: The Bass Reeves Story. Since Yellowstone Watch takes place between 1883 and 1923, Bass Reeves will change the order of the episodes. But, just like 1923, the release dates for all of these Yellowstone spinoffs rely on when the writers’ strike ends.

Leave a Comment